Your recent holiday on Wye - Fredrik from Worcester

Lovely boats and very friendly and helpful staff.

Reply from ABC Boat Hire:

Thank you for your lovely review about your canal boat holiday with ABC Boat Hire on the Wye class from Worcester marina.

Your recent holiday on Lark - Dusky Lark from Union Wharf

Fantastic boat, wonderful service, we loved it

Reply from ABC Boat Hire:

Thank you for your review about Dusky Lark from Union Wharf we hope you will book with ABC Boat Hire again.

Your recent holiday on Woodpecker - Syrian Woodpecker from Aldermaston Wharf

We have rented many narrowboats from different boat yards all over the UK. My two star verdict is based on comparing our experience of renting the Syrian Woodpecker from ABC in aldermaston with our other narrowboat holidays. We have views that we'd like to share on both the boat and the boat yard. There were multiple things wrong with the boat (in order of irritation): - the return valves on the shower pump outs did not work/ needed cleaning out so pumping out the showers took for ever - we had a water leak that we noticed fixed before we left the boat yard but sadly had to live with the leak under our bathroom sink for two weeks - the heating does not get the radiators hot, it warms them but warm radiators don't really heat a cold boat - the heating wont start/ run without the engine running. Starting the engine (at 6:30am) in the morning in an attempt to get the boat warm wakes up everybody on the boat up and the boat next to you. This makes the heating less useful. We've been on other boats where the heating would run fine with out the engine (and would heat the whole boat) - the throttle was worn and would not stay at the revs you set - the grill would light but go out more than once whilst trying to cook toast - the gas pressure appears to be quite low, it take forever to boil a kettle of water - there were multiple things missing from the inventory - the chains to the front rope fender were broken Even if everything was working we'd not have been happy with the boat: - there is very little storage space. We cook our meals on the boat and struggled to store our supplies. Where 8 people would put their luggage/ kit we have no idea. Particular if people were sleeping in the galley when you'd want to put the bedding away during the day. - at the revs needed to push the boat along at 3-4 mph there is a turn and the tiller needs a constant force on it to keep the boat straight (this is not unusual in narrow boats but there are boats that have much lighter till forces at working speed) - The 'free wifi' using the 3G on the 3 network. The K&A canal goes though a lot of rural places where there is no (3) 3G. You can get 4G but the Wifi is only a 3G receiver. Many of the places you can or will want to stop on the K&A the WiFi does not work. And at 4mph it can take a long time to move the boat to better 3G reception! - the galley is a little small, only one person can really work the kitchen space at a time, other people helping prepare food need to sit at the table We have no idea how you'd get 8 people around the galley table We did write a list of issue for the boat yard in the hope that users of the boat in the future would have a better boat than we did, but given the reply we are not confident that everything got fixed The good things about the Syrian WookPecker: - Having two cabins and two bathrooms works really well for two couples - The back deck is a good size for multiple people to sit out on and chat and enjoy the holiday - The boat is powerfully enough to work the river (both at the Aldermaston end and the Bath end) with confidence - The showers are great - The loos work fine The boatyard We really did not hit it off with the boat yard. From them not showing us how much diesel we had used and how they calculated the return of our deposit, to the resistance we got in the yard and from customer service department to us want more than three windlasses (lock handles) for an eight person boat that was going through 29 locks in a day. It would been nice to have a friendly greeting both on arrival and return. The guy who briefed us on the boat was great, but the response to us asking for things to be fixed was not so good.

Your recent holiday on Plover - Golden Plover from Alvechurch

Its only 4 stars due to that the wifi did not function. The boat was new and the internet connection from the boat to internet had not been tested.

Your recent holiday on Warbler - Yellow Warbler from Hilperton

Great boat, clean and comfortable with everything we needed.

Reply from ABC Boat Hire:

Thank you for your review on your holiday with ABC Boat Hire on Yellow Warbler from Hilperton Marina.

Your recent holiday on Wye - Fredrik from Worcester

boat was good instuction good. everything you could need for trip on board

Your recent holiday on Goose - Andean Goose from Gayton

Perfectly enjoyable holiday.

Your recent holiday on Bunting - Lapland Bunting from Wrenbury

lovely time had buy all. a well needed relaxing time

Reply from ABC Boat Hire:

Thank you for your lovely review about your canal boat holiday with ABC Boat Hire on the Bunting class at Wrenbury

Your recent holiday on Goose - Bar Headed Goose from Wrenbury

We are return customers and have always travelled from Wrenbury. On this visit, once again we were given a warm, friendly welcome from the staff. The boat was spick and span and in good order. During our trip, my son became poorly with gastric flu. We had quite a distressing night on the boat and needed the toilets pumping out. I rang the Wrenbury Boat Yard and spoke to Lynn. She was immediately reassuring and very kind. She arranged for us to stop at the next boat yard on our way back where Katie met us. She provided us with clean towels and toilet cleaner. She took the used towels from me without a murmur and then drove me to a nearby chemist where I was able to buy some medicine, Katie went out of her way to help me and I am very grateful to her and to Lynn. In the meantime, the boat was pumped out for us and we were able to continue our journey back to Wrenbury. This exceptional and outstanding customer service is very impressive. All the staff at both boat yards were exemplary as they made every possible effort to help us in our hour of need. Once again, we are very happy with Lynn and the team and we are very much looking forward to our next visit. Well done ABC for your excellent service!

Reply from ABC Boat Hire:

Thank you for your wonderful review on your holiday with ABC Boat Hire on Bar Headed Goose from Wrenbury marina. I've passed your comments on to Lynn and Katie and the rest of the team at both marinas. We look forward to welcoming you on-board again in the future.

Your recent holiday on Lock - Ufton Lock from Aldermaston Wharf

The Kennet and Avon canal is lovely and we had great weather.

Your recent holiday on Wye - Baya from Gailey Wharf

Staff consistently pleasant and helpful Boat well equipped - it was refreshing to be supplied with a decent set of pans and cooking utensils - so often there has been minimal cooking equipment

Reply from ABC Boat Hire:

Thank you for your wonderful review about your narrowboat holiday with ABC Boat Hire on the Wye from Gailey

Your recent holiday on Heron - Purple Heron from Wrenbury

This being the third time we had hired a boat through ABC and the reason we keep coming back is because of the excellent service and great boats we have hired in the past. The only reason I rate good instead of excellent was because on arrival on the Saturday we were told that our boat had been cancelled by head office after only confirming everything on the Wednesday I was surprised and concerned to hear this and did cause us a slight worry before our long waited for holiday. Unfortunately because of this the marina through no fault of their own did not have our boat ready and we had to wait nearly 3 hours for the boat to be ready to go out. The Staff at Wrenbury were fantastic and it was all hands to deck to get Purple Heron ready to go out. I am surprised that I have never received a call from head office apologising for this mix up, though as said I could not fault the Marina staff who were very apologetic and it was not even their doing but they certainly made it up to us getting the boat ready to go.

Reply from ABC Boat Hire:

Thank you for your lovely review about your narrowboat holiday with ABC Boat Hire on Purple Heron from Wrenbury. Our response regarding the issue at the beginning of the holiday is on it's way to you or you may have already received it. We have passed your comments on to the team at Wrenbury and we hope to see you again in the future.

Your recent holiday on Warbler - Garden Warbler from Gayton

Very good except boat ballast not correct

Your recent holiday on Derwent - Grendal from Rugby Wharf

Lovely welcome, helpful at every point, great boat - an excellent short break. We got the best price, lots of advice and support and enjoyed great service.

Reply from ABC Boat Hire:

Thank you for your excellent review about your canal boat holiday with ABC Boat Hire on Grendal from Rugby.

Your recent holiday on Eagle - Booted Eagle from Anderton

Very well presented boat and friendly helpful staff

Reply from ABC Boat Hire:

Thank you for your review about your holiday with ABC Boat Hire on Booted Eagle from Anderton Marina.

Your recent holiday on Swan - Coscoroba Swan from Alvechurch

What you see is what you get.Boat was clean well laid out had everything we needed. Good Brief and explaination Staff friendly and very helpful. ESPECIALLY lady at Alverchurch I think Carol? Very good holiday all 12 guys thoroughly enjoyed and are considering re booking again for next Spring. Thank you

Reply from ABC Boat Hire:

Thanks for your review about ABC Boat Hire on our Swan Class from Alvechurch Marina.

Your recent holiday on Bunting - Little Bunting from Aldermaston Wharf

An enjoyable holiday from a good location

Your recent holiday on Lark - Horned Lark from Alvechurch

As always everyone at abc was exceptionally helpful, friendly and professional. They go out of their way to ensure you have a holiday to remember.

Reply from ABC Boat Hire:

Thank your for your review about your canal boat holiday with ABC Boat Hire on our Lark Class from Alvechurch Marina

Your recent holiday on Medway - Agnar from Whitchurch Marina

Every thing was just right, the boat, the hand over, the whole lot.

Your recent holiday on Weaver - Orange Weaver from Falkirk

Very efficient booking, friendly staff, very well organised. Great holiday.


 


Check Availability and Book












Feefo average score:
4.6 out of 5.

Read our reviews here


uk boating maps

  >

Website Designed and develped by Nexus Creative